Skip directly to content

IDPP Networks at NSF Joint Annual Meeting

Dr. Joan Ferrini-Munley Associate Director of NSFDr. Derrick L. Cogburn, IDPP/COTELCO Executive Director; Ms. Erica Seng, IDPP Program Coordinator for Collaborative Research and Education; and Ms. Kerry Honeycutt, IDPP Research Associate, are concluding their participation at the National Science Foundation (NSF)’s 5th Joint Annual Meeting (JAM) held from 12-15 June 2012 at the Washington Hilton Hotel in Washington, D.C.

The NSF JAM is a yearly meeting of past and present NSF grant awardees. This year’s theme was Broadening Participation Research (BPR).

The meeting theme was expected to facilitate two outcomes: first, the Directorate for Education and Human Resources (EHR) and the Division of Human Resource Development’s Research & Development Core's transformation to integrate BPR as a result of stakeholder input; and second, improvement in BPR and Broadening Participation Capacity Building (BPCP) as a result of increased collaboration among principal investigators (PIs).

Of particular interest to the IDPP was the BPR breakout session on Research on Broadening STEM Participation Among Persons with Disabilities. Presenters of this session included University of Texas Professor Dr. Chandra Muller; Auburn University Associate Provost and Professor Dr. Overtoun Jenda; and Senior Director of the Leadership Institute for Women in Psychology Dr. Shari Miles-Cohen.

Follow the IDPP on Twitter and "like" us on Facebook to learn more about our research initiatives!